Before I get too off topic with this rant I want to look into what democracy is at it's core. Dictionary.com says that democracy is: government by the people; a form of government in which the supreme power is vested in the people and exercised directly by them or a by their elected agents under a free electoral system. Well there's quite a few problems that I see with this in the United States. First off, I didn't elect an elector he was appointed that by someone with prominence. I don't feel like I have any power in what is done in this country especially living in Utah. And if it is truly by the people how come my only options for President are rich politicians who can afford to run and whatever it is you would call Donald Trump? I don't see any middle class blue collar workers running because they got weeded out by the rich. In fact, what I would love to see is a homeless man in office. Because he doesn't have a job or a house and so he isn't worried about things like segregating us from the world or hacking an iPhone. All he cares about is survival and trying to help everyone survive and that is ultimately what a government should be there for is making it possible for us as a people to co-exist while helping each other survive. Politics has become a game rich people play against other rich people and I'm getting real tired of having to hear about it. I want my voice to be heard in society and not silenced by the the number following the dollar sign on my bank account. Will we ever be equal?
Sunday, February 28, 2016
Democracy? 2.0
Really? Democracy... That describes my basic feelings toward this topic. Especially at this time in our country when the elections are so "exciting." I mean come on, who are we kidding anymore? Do they teach what any of this stuff means in schools growing up? They say the words democracy and "a government by the people for the people" but who actually learned what that meant in elementary, middle or high school? I'm in college and I'm not afraid to admit that I don't fully understand democracy but I feel like whatever our country is doing isn't democracy. We hear the dumb jokes about Obama being a dictator and how Trump will do the same but will that really change much? I feel like no matter who is in office and what their title is, the government is going to do what they want when they want to without our permission. Elections only matter for the electors and they can do whatever the hell they want when they vote. I think the best explanation of the elections I've ever see is a clip from TruTV's new show Adam Ruins Everything. For once someone who doesn't seem like a crazy conspiracy theorist is explaining the election and citing sources showing why it is so screwed up. If you don't live in Ohio, Florida or Pennsylvania (aka "Swing States") then why bother?
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

Daxton, I really agree with what you ahve to say, especially about needing someone in office who isnt about their own paycheck. in my opinion politics should not be a paid position but a service to tour country. also hope you don't mind I'm going to use your link to adam ruis everything for my facebook campaign about felons voting.
ReplyDeleteI agree with you on how we don't see middle class workers running for president. We have never seen that because they don't have the money like these other politicians do. The government hides a lot of things from the people, but they still do whatever they want and get away with it. This has been going on for a long time, but when will it stop?
ReplyDeleteDaxton-
ReplyDeleteNot that I want a homeless man in the Oval Office, but I agree wholeheartedly, politics is about money and power and I don't feel I have a voice. I loved the TED talk, and could get behind that kind of movement (a democracy app) but I'm not smart enough to get something like that going. I feel where I can make the most difference is just within my own sphere of influence - leave the changing of the world to others. ;)
I liked your meme, it reminded my of my poly-sci professor telling us students to not even bother registering to vote because our votes don't count. I really wish we could do away with the electoral college and count votes seriously, vote for vote.
ReplyDeleteIn Australia they have a really similar political system to us (minus the queen) when they go to vote for candidates or parties for Prime Minister citizens are required to vote. To the best of my knowledge, this is simply because they count vote for vote who will be the next leader. While I don't exactly agree with a country requiring something like that of their citizens, I do appreciate that you can walk away knowing that your vote mattered. I also really enjoyed the TED Talk, I wish there was a way we could be more involved and more effective. I think it would greatly benefit us as citizens because it would require us to always stay well informed. ;)